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New Immunization Laws for Schools, Child Care, and
Early Childhood Programs Begin September 2014

On Sept. 1, 2014, changes to Minnesota’s Immunization
Law will take effect. The changes were made to be more
closely aligned with the current Advisory Committee on
Immunization Practices (ACIP) recommendations.
Medical and conscientious exemptions are still allowed
under the law.

New Vaccine Requirements
The new vaccines that will require documentation of
immunization or a legal exemption include:

e Hepatitis B — For all children over 2 months old
enrolled or enrolling in child care or an early
childhood program.

e Hepatitis A - For all children over 12 months old
enrolled or enrolling in child care or an early
childhood program.

e Tdap - For all students entering seventh grade.
Students in eighth through 12" grade must show
documentation if the school requests it. This replaces
the Td immunization requirement.

e Meningitis (meningococcal) - For all students
entering seventh grade. Students entering eighth
through 12" grade must show documentation if the
school requests it.

Changes to Previous Vaccine Requirements

e Varicella —Must have received varicella vaccine by 15
months of age to enroll in child care or early
childhood programs. This applies to children turning
15 months old on Sept. 1, 2014 or after.

Additionally, the law clarifies that if a child had

varicella disease:

0 Before 2010, the parent or guardian needs to
provide the month/year of the disease and their
signature. A provider’s signature is not required.

0 After 2010, a provider’s signature is required.

e Polio and DTaP- Starting Sept. 1, 2014, children
enrolled or enrolling in child care, early childhood
programs, and kindergarten through 12" grade and
are completing their polio or DTaP series must have
had their final:
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0 Polio dose (usually fourth dose) on or after their
fourth birthday

0 DTaP dose (usually fifth dose) vaccine on or
after their fourth birthday.

Remember, this change takes effect on September 1,

2014, so incoming kindergartners for the 2014-2015

school year who have completed their polio and

DTaP series are exempt. This change will have a

bigger impact on incoming kindergartners for the

2015-16 school year.

Note: This change doesn’t apply to children in upper
grades, in other words, a review of records for children in
first through 12" grade isn’t necessary.

e Kindergarten through 12" grade - The immunization
law now specifies that students in all grades have
documentation for all required vaccines. If the school
requests immunization records for any student (K-12),
parents must comply by providing the immunization
dates or a legal exemption. The requirement for schools
to report compliance at kindergarten and seventh grade
to MDH remains unchanged.

Early Childhood Programs Now Included

New to Minnesota’s Immunization Law are early

childhood programs which include programs that provide

instructional or other services to support children’s

learning and development and:

e Serve children from birth to kindergarten.

e Meet at least once a week for at least six weeks or
more during the year.

Children enrolled or enrolling in these types of programs

must provide proof of immunizations or have a legal

exemption for:

e DTaP e Varicella

e Polio e Pneumococcal (2-24 months)
e MMR e Hepatitis A

e Hib e Hepatitis B

Note: Early Childhood Special Education (ECSE) was
previously included in the Immunization Law.

For more information

Visit www.health.state.mn.us/immunize (click on
Immunization Laws in the left column) or call the
Immunization Program at 651-201-5503, 1-800-657-3970.
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Are Your Kids Ready?
Minnesota’s Immunization Law

Immunization The following immunizations are required beginning Sept. 1, 2014.

Requirements To enter into child care, early childhood programs, and elementary or secondary schools (public
or private), children need to have certain immunizations. Use this chart as a quick reference to
determine which vaccines are required for enroliment. See below for exemption information.

Birth through 4 years Age: 5 through 6 years?  Age: 7 through 11 years  Age: 12 years and older

Early childhood programs For Kindergarten For 1st through 6" For 7t through 12t
& Child care grade grade
Hepatitis A

. Hepatitis B Hepatitis B Hepatitis B*
Hepatitis B 3 doses 3 doses 3 doses
DTaP
DTaP/DT 5 doses At least 3 tetanus and Tdap*
5" shot not needed if 4" was afterage 4 diphtheria containing doses At age 11-12 years
Final dose on or after age 4 years
Polio
Polio 4 doses Polio Polio
4™ polio not needed if 3¢ was after age 4 At least 3 doses At least 3 doses
Final dose on or after age 4 years
MMR MMR MMR
MMR 2 doses 2 doses 2 doses
Hib Meningococcal®
Haemophilus influenzae type b At age 11-12 years
Pneumococcal
At age 2-24 months
. Varicella' Varicella' Varicella'
1
Varicella 2 doses 2 doses 2 doses

Immunizations recommended but not required by the Immunization Law:

Influenza
Recommended annually for all children age 6 months and older

Rotavirus Human papillomavirus
Recommended for infants Recommended at age 11 years

TIf the child has already had chickenpox disease, varicella shots are not required. If the disease occurred after 2010, the
child’s doctor must sign a form.

2 First graders who are 6 years old and younger must follow the polio and DTaP/DT schedules for kindergarten.

3 An alternate 2-shot schedule of hepatitis B may also be used for kids from age 11 through 15 years.

4 Proof of at least three doses of diphtheria and tetanus vaccination needed. If a child received Tdap at age 7-10 years another
dose is not needed at age 11-12 years. However, if it was only a Td, a Tdap dose at age 11-12 years is needed.

5 A booster dose is required at age 16 years or three years later if the first dose was given between age 13-15 years.

Exemptions To go to school in Minnesota, students must show they’ve had these immunizations or file a legal
exemption with the school.

Parents may file a medical exemption signed by a health care provider or a conscientious objection
signed by a parent/guardian and notarized.

Looking for For copies of your child’s vaccination records, talk to your doctor or call the Minnesota

Vaccination Immunization Information Connection (MIIC) at 651-201-5503 or 1-800-657-3970.
Records?

[M T N N Es 0T A]Immunization Program For a parent-friendly chart of immunizations needed for kids from

MD g?&oxl 6&?\1725164 0975 birth to age 16 see, “When to Get Vaccines” available to download from
[_] “Paul, i o : :
B51-201-5503 or 1-800-657-3970 www.health.state.mn.us/divs/idepc/immunize/schedules.html
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