Campus in the fall
Heather Mueller, Ed.D.

Heather Mueller, Ed.D.

Board of Directors

Dr. Heather Mueller is an ex officio member of the Perpich Board of Directors. Dr. Mueller is Deputy Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Education. As Deputy Commissioner, Dr. Heather Mueller oversees the Office of Teaching and Learning, the Office of Student Health and Well-being, and the Office of Finance, Human Relations and Policy.

She started her career at Mankato Area Public Schools (MAPS) in August 1997, teaching social studies. During her time at Mankato, she worked as a continuous improvement coach, professional development coordinator, and the director of teaching and learning. Previously at the Minnesota Department of Education, she served as Assistant Commissioner, leading the Office of Teaching and Learning, and overseeing the Divisions of Academic Standards and Instructional Effectiveness; Career and College Success; Early Learning Services; Equity and Opportunity; School Support; and Testing and Assessment. Dr. Mueller earned her doctor of education in leadership degree from St. Mary’s University. She earned her Specialist and K-12 administrative license, master’s degree in educational leadership, and a bachelor’s degree in social studies from Minnesota State University, Mankato.

Mueller’s role on the Perpich Board of Directors is as a designee of the Commissioner of Education. The addition was recommended by the Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor and authorized by the 2017 Education Omnibus Bill. The Board of Directors for Perpich Center for Arts Education manages the Perpich Center agency. The Board consists of 16 members, including the Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Education or the Commissioner’s designee, and 15 members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. At least one member must be appointed from each congressional district, and no member may serve for more than two consecutive terms.

Learn more about our board of directors here.