Faculty Awards and Honors

Perpich Arts High School faculty and the arts education outreach staff practice their art and support the arts by writing for national professional journals, winning competitive fellowships, publishing poetry, showing at area and national galleries and film festivals, composing music for respected ensembles, performing in area venues and serving on national educational standards reviews. Here, in alphabetical order, are just the more recent awards, honors and arts activities of the faculty and staff of Perpich Center for Arts Education.

James Allen, music faculty and guitarist

2011 Artists Initiative Grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board to study Brazilian music

Pat Benincasa, visual arts faculty and artist

2014 Scholastic Art & Writing Award, Outstanding Educator

Award of Excellence from the American Juried Art Salon

Residency at Toronto School of Art

2014 Award of Excellence in the Four Points Contemporary 3rd Annual Competition

Rebecca Bullen, media arts faculty and photographer/videographer

2015 Artist grant recipient in Best Buy Made Here Youth Edition Artists Mentoring Program

2014 National Arts Educators National Conference presenter

2013 Visual Arts Education Exhibition, Moorhead, MN

2012 Robert Rauschenberg Power of Art Award

2011 Co-wrote article on media and religion published by "Religious Education Journal"

2010 CINE Golden Eagle Award for work as associate producer on the documentary, "Ida's Story"

2010 Keynote speaker at the Religious Education Association's annual meeting on the topic, "Media Literacy: Living in the flows of media and religion"

2009 Article, "The Power and Impact of Gender-Specific Media Literacy" in "Youth Media Reporter"

2008 Keynote speaker at the Children's Youth Summit at Luther Seminary College on "Power of Media"

2008 Presenter at TIES Education Technology Conference, "How the Media Works: Visual Literacy"

Tom Carlson, English faculty

National Endowment for the Humanities grant for "Teaching Shakespeare"

2012 Education Minnesota Foundation for Excellence in Teaching Grant

Kevin Clark, English faculty

2013 Fulbright Award to study in Germany

Joshua Clausen, music faculty, musician and composer

2015 American Composers Forum Showcase

2015 Composer mentor for NextNotes Program of the American Composers Forum

2013 MacPhail Commissioning Grant

2011 Jerome Fund for New Music Grant

John Colburn, literary arts faculty, poet, publisher, musician

2014 Artist Initiative Grant

2013 Published book of fiction, "Invisible Daughter" (firthFORTH Books)

2013 Published volume of poetry, "Psychedelic Norway" (Coffee House Press)

2011-12 McKnight Fellowship

Ongoing: Publisher of "Sprout" literary journal

Ongoing: Member of the experimental music band, Astronaut Cooper's Parade

Craig Farmer, art history faculty

2015 Redesign Scholarship from The College Board

2015 National Endowment for the Humanities Teachers' Workshop, "Empires of the Wind"

Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History Summer Seminar at Stanford University

2004 Andrew Mellon Foundation ARTstor digital image database tester (only secondary school teacher involved in U.S.)

Mary Harding, dance faculty

2014-15 Served as writer for dance standards on national committee of the National Coalition for Core Arts Standards

2012 Published article, "Assessment in the High School Technique Class: Creating Thinking Dancers," in the "Journal of Dance Education"

2008 Sister Ann Harvey Action Research Award 

2002 National Dance Teacher of the Year Award from the National Dance Association

2002 SURDNA Arts Teachers Fellowship

Jeremy Holien, Perpich Outreach educator

2014-15 Served as writer for media arts standards on national committee of the National Coalition for Core Arts Standards

Janice Hunton, music faculty, musician

2012 Named artistic director of Twin Cities Women's Choir

2004 SURDNA Foundation Arts Teachers Grant

Virginia McFerran, Perpich Outreach educator

2014 Presented at the national Communication Theater Assocation conference, "Literacy and Theater"

2012 Received Dedicated Lifetime Award "for exemplary and inspirational career dedicated to advancing theater education in the state of Minnesota," from the Minnesota Educational Theater Association

2008 Received Outstanding Individual in Communication and Theater Award from the Communication and Theater Association of Minnesota

2008 Received the Teatro del Pueblo Award "for your outstanding contributions and your dedication to Latino theater"

Pam Paulson, senior director of policy

Trustee, The College Board

Chair, The College Board Academic Council

Past Chair, The College Board Arts Academic Committee

Director, State Policy Pilot Project, Americans for the Arts

Minnesota representative, State Education Agency Directors of Arts Education

Member, Advisory Committee of the Arts Education Partnership

Member, Leadership/Governance Team for the National Coalition for Core Arts Standards

Part President, National Dance Education Organization

Past President, Minnesota Association of Supervision and Curriculum Development

Tory Peterson, theater faculty

2007 Gilkder Lehrman Teachers Institute

2003 SURDNA Foundation Arts Teachers Grant

2001 Animating Democracy Grant

Sun Yung Shin, English faculty and poet

2016 Volume of Poetry, "Unbearable Splendor"

2016 Book of essays, "A Peculiar Price: New Writing on Race in Minnesota"

2014 McKnight Artist Fellowship for Writers (Poetry)

2012 Volume of poetry, "Rough and Savage" (Coffee House Press)

2011 Minnesota Emerging Writers' Grant, The Loft Literary Center

2010 Artist Initiative Grant (literature), Minnesota State Arts Board

2007 Volume of poetry, "Skirt Full of Black" (Coffee House Press)

2006 Book of essays, "Outsiders Within: Writing on Transracial Adoption" (South End Press)

2004 Bilingual illustrated book for children, "Cooper's Lesson" (Lee and Low Books)

2003 Jerome Artists' Grant, SASE, The Write Place

2002 Artist Grant, Asian American Renaissance

Janika Vandervelde, music faculty (retired) and composer

2014, 2011 Live Music for Dance Minnesota (with choreographer Deborah Jinza Thayer)

2009, 2003, 1994 McKnight Composer Fellowship

2003 Minnesota State Arts Board Individual Artists Fellowship

Twice honored with Bush Artist Fellowship

Lili Boulanger Award, the Women's Philharmonic, San Francisco

Meet the Composer (NY) New Residencies Grant over three years with four organizations: Minnesota Chorale, Women's International League for Peace and Freedom, Chamber Music Society of Minnesota and Perpich Center for Arts Education

Jerome Travel-Study Grant

Commissioning composer grants from Chanticleer, Dale Wareland Singers, St. Paul Chamber Orchestra, New Zealand String Quartet, Kitka Women's Choir of San Franscisco, Minnesota Orchestra, Houston Symphany, Glen Ellyn Children's Choir in Chicago, Guthrie Theater

Author of "Music by Kids for Kids," a composition curriculum published by the American Composers forum

Sandra Woodhull, visual arts faculty and artist

2011 Minnesota Education Foundation for Excellence in Teaching Grant



Award News

Check out Perpich News to learn about recent awards won by the Perpich Center, its student, staff and faculty.