Perpich News

Perpich Center 2023-2025 Regional Arts Teacher-Leader Network Announced

January 30, 2023

Perpich Center for Arts Education is proud to introduce the 2023-2025 class of Regional Arts Teacher-Leaders. Regional Arts Teacher-Leaders comprise a collaborative network of distinguished teachers of dance, media arts, music, visual arts, and theater coming together to increase professional development opportunities across the state. As Regional Arts Teacher-Leaders, members will offer their expertise as a resource for arts educators in their regions through facilitating professional development and providing knowledgeable support to colleagues. Each Regional Arts Teacher-Leader has committed to a multi-year process in which their work is supported through workshops hosted by Perpich Center for Arts Education to further develop leadership in the arts.

“It is with great pleasure that I welcome a new cohort of Regional Arts Teacher-Leaders,” said Max Clark-Vail, Regional Centers Director. “Reviewing applications was a wonderful experience. I am honored to work with such a well-deserving group of arts educators bringing a wide range of skills, expertise, and accomplishments, all paired with the desire to learn and grow. With representation from across the state, some teacher-leaders being over 400 miles apart, this process also serves as a wonderful reminder of the strength and health of the field of arts education in Minnesota.”

Lindsay Hunkins, a Visual Arts teacher at Hill-Murray School, said, “A few things drew me to the Regional Arts Teacher-Leaders. I strive to be a role model not only for my students but also for my colleagues teaching in arts education. It’s important for me to build my resources as I continue to grow as an arts educator. Since Perpich is known for its leadership in arts education, why not learn from the best! Teaching can sometimes feel like an isolating career, so joining a group such as this helps me connect with others in the profession. I hope that positive social interaction will cultivate a supportive network and give us all a sense of belonging. Communication with other members of the group builds camaraderie, and we all benefit from each other’s breadth of knowledge and experiences. As a life-long learner, I am looking forward to enriching activities that build leadership skills. I anticipate being challenged in ways that are uncommon in my daily routines and encourage focused reflection on teaching and leadership methods.”

Deborah Karp, a Dance teacher from St. Paul Public Schools, said, “I was most interested to join the RAT-Ls for the opportunity to grow and develop my leadership capacity, particularly in arts education. I am really looking forward to deep and rich conversations across artistic disciplines that offer perspectives, practices, and relationships that I had not considered before. Already, I have had a very rich and rewarding conversation about cultural relevance in the dance classroom, particular to our student populations in Minnesota, and programmatic designs.”

Congratulations to all of the arts educators selected for the 2023-2025 class of Regional Arts Teacher-Leaders!

2023-2025 class of Regional Arts Teacher-Leaders
  • Gretchen Abegglen – Visual Arts, Osseo Area Public Schools
  • Nicholas Armstrong – Music, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage Public Schools
  • Rachel Betterley – Visual Arts, St. Louis County Schools
  • Delecia Bey – Visual Arts, Minneapolis Public Schools
  • Adam Blumberg – Theater, Anoka-Hennepin Schools
  • Sandy Borkowski – Visual & Media Arts, Bluffview Montessori School
  • Kristin Bray – Visual & Media Arts, Red Wing Public Schools
  • Linda Brown – Visual Arts, Clearbrook-Gonvick Public Schools
  • Betsy Carroll – Visual & Media Arts, Chisholm Public Schools
  • Amy Comp – Music, Hills-Beaver Creek Public Schools
  • Krishana Dempcy – Music, Lakeview Public Schools
  • Stephanie Drymalski – Music, Osseo Area Public Schools
  • Cheryl Durant – Music, Cass Lake-Bena Public Schools
  • Amy Gale – Visual Arts, Osseo Area Public Schools
  • Lehi Gertz – Music, G.F.W. Public Schools
  • Charlie Gorrill – Visual Arts, Academy of Holy Angels
  • Paul Gronert – Music, Mounds View Public Schools
  • Maia Hamann – Music, Holdingford Public Schools
  • Katie Hoaglund – Music, Fairmont Area Public Schools
  • Clayton Hubert – Visual Arts, Red Rock Central School District
  • Lindsay Hunkins – Visual Arts, Hill-Murray School
  • Deborah Karp – Dance, St. Paul Public Schools
  • Heather Knigge – Visual Arts, Worthington School District
  • Emily Labes – Music, Fairmont Public Schools
  • Erik Lane – Theater, Roseville Area Public Schools
  • Julie Loxtercamp – Music, Bemidji Area Public Schools
  • Megan Marcy-Strelow – Dance, Anoka-Hennepin Public Schools
  • Heather Mastel – Theater, Mounds Park Academy
  • Lori Messick – Visual Arts, Fertile-Beltrami Public Schools
  • Stacy Mittag – Theater, St. Croix Preparatory Academy
  • Erin Phillips – Visual Arts, Sartell-St. Stephen Public Schools
  • Kara Rajcic – Visual & Media Arts, University of Minnesota
  • Megan Reynolds – Theater, Hibbing Public Schools
  • Kelly Taylor – Music, Litchfield Public Schools
  • Ashley Williams – Visual Arts, Central Public Schools
  • Karen Zastrow – Music, Randolph Public Schools